HBS-NEO Harvard Business School Club of Northeastern Ohio HBS-NEO

Programs: Leadership Award

2017 Recipient: David Gilbert

Leadership Award Presentation
Photo from a recent event.
Leadership Award Presentation
Photo from a recent event.
 Leadership Award Presentation
Photo from a recent event.

Harvard Business School Club of Northeastern Ohio is proud to announce the selection of David Gilbert—President & CEO, Destination Cleveland—as recipient of the 2017 Leadership Award.

On May 4, 2017 we will honor him for his work with Destination Cleveland, the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission, and the Republican National Convention.

Formal invitations to the event will be mailed at a later date; however, we anticipate that this event will be very popular and are offering you the opportunity to reserve early.

Leadership Award Dinner Details

Date: May 4, 2017


The Ritz Carlton
1515 West Third
Cleveland, OH 44113

Dinner with Open Bar:

6:00pm - Cocktails
6:45pm - Dinner
7:30pm - Program

Tickets* (spouses and guests are welcome):

$125 per person
$1,100 - table of 10

* Patron members are entitled to prepaid admission.

Dress: Business Attire - Spouses and Guest Welcome

Reserve now.

Past Recipients:

1959 A.S. Stambaugh
1960 Frederick C. Crawford
1961 Kent H. Smith
1962 Vernon Stouffer
1963 George Gund
1964 Ralph M. Besse
1965 George M. Humphrey
1966 Maurice Saltzman
1967 Wade N. Harris
1968 George S. Dively
1969 William C. Treuhaft
1970 Edward W. Sloan, Jr.
1971 John David Wright
1972 Francis A. Coy
1973 H. Stuart Harrison
1974 E. Mandell deWindt
1975 Charles E. Spahr
1976 Claude M. Blair
1977 Richard B. Tullis
1978 Herbert E. Strawbridge
1979 Richard T. Baker
1980 Larry R. Robinson
1981 M. Brock Weir
1982 Allen C. Holmes
1983 William S. Kiser
1984 Ruben F. Mettler
1985 Morton L. Mandel
1986 James M. Biggar

1987 Robert M. Ginn
1988 John G. Breen
1989 Albert B. Ratner
1990 Kevin O'Donnell
1991 James R. Stover
1992 Edward B. Brandon
1993 Stanley C. Gault
1994 David H. Hoag
1995 Thomas C. Sullivan
1996 Struchen/Heffern/Gillespie
1997 Martin D. Walker
1998 Farah M. Walters
1999 Peter B. Lewis
2000 Joseph T. Gorman
2001 Stephen R. Hardis
2002 A. Malachi Mixon, III
2003 David Daberko
2004 W.R. Timken, Jr.
2005 Sandy Cutler
2006 Frank Linsalata
2007 Toby Cosgrove
2008 James D. Ireland III
2009 Christopher Connor
2011 B. Charles Ames and William Jones
2012 Richard and Timothy Smucker
2013 Charles P. Bolton (MBA 1968)
2014 Alfred M. Rankin, Jr.
2015 Barbara R. Snyder
2016 The Gund Family


2018 Nominating Form (Click here for print version)

Help your club identify and recognize Northeastern Ohio's business leaders. Nominate your choice as the outstanding chief executive for the 2018 HBS Club of NEO Leadership Award (previously known as the Business Statesman Award)

Selection Criteria:

  1. A business leader who is or has been a CEO or chairman of a public, private, or nonprofit organization
  2. Success as a business leader in NE Ohio measured by the business impact that the leader's activities will have on the future of NE Ohio.
  3. Leadership in fulfilling the responsibilities of a successful business to its employees, to the community and to society, again as measured by how these activities will impact the future of NE Ohio.

I nominate the following person for the 2018 Leadership Award:



of nominee
(if available)

Your name and e-mail address are required to submit a nomination:

My Name: 

My E-Mail:

  Please enter above security code: