HBS-NEO Harvard Business School Club of Northeastern Ohio HBS-NEO

Programs: George S. Dively Entrepreneurship Award


Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

Photo from recent event.

2016 Recipient: Rocco DiLillo

Sold Out.

Failed, Fired...& Succeeded

Four heralded Northeastern Ohio entrepreneurs will tell us about failing or being fired, and they won't gild the lily because failing and being fired in spectacular fashion is what they're here to talk about (as well as succeeding). So that we actually learn something from their tales of woe, we made sure our storytellers are very successful business people. They are:

  • Buffy Filippell - Founder, TeamWork Online
  • Stewart Kohl - Co-CEO, The Riverside Company
  • Dan Moore - CEO/Chairman, Dan T. Moore, Co.
  • 2016 Dively Honoree Rocco Di Lillo - Chairman:
    • City Visitor Communications
    • PorchLight Rental Services
    • PCX Corporation
    • Advanced Hydro Solutions

After telling their tales, they'll participate in a panel discussion.

We'll start the evening with a talk by HBS Prof. Thomas Eisenmann. As co-chair of the HBS Rock Center for Entrepreneurship, he'll share results of a research project on the causes of failure for early and later stage startups, and he'll discuss what it means for an entrepreneur to "fail well."

We'll cap off our evening by awarding Mr. Di Lillo the 2016 Dively Award for his success growing many companies.

But wait, there's more still! Our new location for our event is the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in the award-winning University Circle. MOCA is keeping its galleries open for private viewing by attendees throughout the evening.

Access this celebration of entrepreneurship—including buffet dinner, beer & wine, valet parking, networking and lessons for a lifetime—for $50 (club members), $70 (non-members) or $35 (qualifying entrepreneurs*).


Monday, November 7th - 6:00 to 8:30pm


Museum of Contemporary Art
11400 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106


  • $50 - HBS Club Member or spouse
  • $70 - Non-members
  • $35 - Entrepreneurs
  • $625 - Table of Ten

Sold Out.


This is one of the best opportunities of the year to spend time with entrepreneurs and ask them about their stories. The HBS Fund of Northeastern Ohio has generously granted money to this Dively entrepreneurship event. You'll see on the registration page that entrepreneurs* receive special pricing. However, spaces are limited, so please request seats early.

* For these purposes, we define entrepreneurs as people who are growing a company that is under $1 million in annual revenues and have launched, are launching, or will launch an innovative product or service.

About the Dively Entrepreneurship Event

George Dively, one of Northeast Ohio's greatest entrepreneurs, served as chairman and CEO of the Harris Intertype Company as it grew from $10 million to $2 billion. He wanted America to celebrate entrepreneurs, and he left this regional event and award as a part of his entrepreneurial legacy. HBS-NEO has selected Failed, Fired, & Succeeded as its theme this year and Rocco Di Lillo as its 2016 Dively Entrepreneurship honoree.

Sold Out.

Past Recipients:

1983 Samuel J. Franklino
Agency Rent-A-Car
1984 A. Malachi Mixon, III
1985 Milton Maltz
Malrite Corporation
1986 Robert F. Meyerson
Raymond D. Meyo
Telxon, Inc.
1987 Tinkham Veale, II
Charles W. Walton
Sudbury, Inc.
1988 Thomas A. Cutter
Robert S. Kendall
Michael R. Kennedy
LDI Corporation
1989 Craig E. Hons
James L. Schiering
Russell A. Smith
James A. Terwoord
Action Auto Rental
1990 Eric Nord
Nordson Corporation
1991 Arnold M. Miller
Matrix Essentials, Inc.
1992 Michael Feuer
1993 Thomas G. Murdough
Step 2 Corporation
1994 Bill R. Sanford
STERIS Corporation
1995 Jack Kahl
Manco, Inc.
1996 William E. Conway
Fairmount Materials, Ltd.
1997 Jon H. Outcalt
Kevin B. Shaw
NCS Healthcare
1998 Wayne Hellman
Advanced Lighting Technology
1999 Monte Ahuja
Transtar Industries
2000 James P. Mooney
OM Group

David T. Morgenthaler
Morgenthaler Venture Partners

2002 Dan T. Moore
Dan T. Moore Companies
2003 John Osher
2004 Emergency Medicine Physicians
2005 Hyland Software
2006 Dealer Tire
2007 Ray Dalton
2008 James Hummer
Whole Health Management
2010 Kenneth Ricci
Flight Options
2011 Charles Hallberg
2012 The Harrington Family
Edgepark Medical Supplies
2013 Robert J. Shearer
Shearer's Food, Inc.
2014 TransDigm Group, Inc.
2015 Explorys
2016 Rocco DiLillo


Help the club identify and recognize Northeastern Ohio's entrepreneurs. Nominate your choice as the outstanding entrepreneur for the 2017 George S. Dively Award.

Selection Criteria:

The Dively Entrepreneurship Award is granted annually to an individual or company in Northeast Ohio based on the demonstration of substantial success as an entrepreneur or entrepreneurial company. Success should be demonstrated by rapid and solid growth in the size and profitability of the organization over the last five years, as well as by having achieved a position of significance in the marketplace addressed.

I nominate the following person for the 2017 George S. Dively Entrepreneurship Award:


Biographical information of nominee (if available):

Your e-mail address and name are required to submit a nomination:

My E-Mail:

My Name:

  Please enter above security code: